New to feeding dogs raw

Abyss AbyssAbyss Abyss Posts: 4Member
edited 27 April, 2015 in Raw Food Diet
I feed my ferrets raw, and since Mari was a puppy I've fed her half raw and half kibble, but I'm new to feeding full raw to dogs. Kazuto had his first organ meal a few nights ago... and ever since he's been having dark brown/black poop that is very liquidy. Is this just because he's not used to it? I fed him 1 pound total. Half pig liver and half pig spleen. I'm feeding him 2.1 pounds a day because I'm aiming for him to get to 70 pounds at the moment; he's still underweight.

Comments

• Alexa TravisAlexa Travis Birmingham, ALPosts: 4,692Member
    edited 26 April, 2015
    Wait, you did the entire meal as organs, and have never fed organ before? I'm not really understanding your post- 1 lb all organ meal, or you did 1 lb of 2.1 lbs (total) daily ration as organ? Either way, yes, gut distress from way too much organ way too quickly. Generally speaking, you introduce one organ at a time, slowly over several days. You'll want to bust up that 1 lb of organ over the entire week, much smaller portions per meal. To further that, nearly 50% of the diet being organ is WAY too much. You need to shoot for about 10% total overall. Also, even for wanting to gain weight, 2 lbs is a little high. For maintenance, a 70lb dog on average is only going to need about a lb and a half. You're doing 3% right now... generally speaking, I don't think you need to go that high unless the dog is extremely active/working and is not keeping wight, is still young, or is considerably underweight. If you're just trying to put a couple of extra lbs on him, feed the normal 2% for a while and adjust from there.
  • Abyss AbyssAbyss Abyss Posts: 4Member
    edited 26 April, 2015