What is the best way to chose a name for a new pup?

John VarsJohn Vars MinnetristaPosts: 1,016Member
It is so hard to come up with a good name for a new pup. Does anyone have any good, creative ways for doing this?

Best Answers

• Sara HoffeeSara Hoffee Bloomington/NormalPosts: 8,936Member
    Accepted Answer
    In our family, everyone is given a musical name. I'm a classical pianist by training, so I generally have a few names in mind, then give it a few days to see what the pup's personality is like. With Rondo, I played different recordings of things and named him after the piece he really reacted to the most. Fritz (one of my former fosters) got his name because of a certain womanizing tendency (and divo behavior) displayed by Fritz Wunderlich the great tenor. Gretta was named for a Schubert song where the high point involved kissing (her greatest talent in life). We've also had a string of more typical musical names for various pets: Figaro, Pierrot, and Eusebius to name a few. I guess my advice is to focus in on a hobby or love that you have, and play word association. Then you'll find a creative name that suits both you and the dog.
  • Saskia RottbeckSaskia Rottbeck CairnsPosts: 26,400Member
    Accepted Answer
    My advice is to get to know the puppy over a few days and find a name that suits its personality that you also like.
  • Michelle Martinez CaamanoMichelle Martinez Caamano My furry family lives in NJPosts: 760Member
    Accepted Answer
    We checked websites for baby names - we eliminated everything that was longer than 2 syllables and then we checked out the meanings. We picked the one that best fit the personality of our little one. Lucas = illuminated one, or light Since we feel he has lit up our lives, that became his name!
  • Melissa CullenMelissa Cullen AucklandPosts: 710Member
    Accepted Answer