I recently adopted a puppy. The shelter told me she was a Great Pyrenees/Aussie mix, I'm curious abo

Samantha ShepardSamantha Shepard Roswell, NMPosts: 2Member
Before I get flamed for having a 7wk old puppy, I adopted her from a shelter where she was bottle fed since she was 2 weeks old. I was told they were brought in to the shelter by a family who could not take care of them due to the mother dieing. That aside, I'm kinda curious as to whether i'm being told the right breed mix she is. I feel she is kinda small for being a G.Pyrenes mix. She does seem to have the coloring of the G.Pyrenees but I am no dog expert. I have provided several other pictures in my profile of her a few with my 3yr old son sleeping with her (so cute). Is anyone able to tell me what they think or what I should be able to do to find out how big she is going to get and if infact the shelter told me the correct information about her breed?

Best Answers

• Heather StanfordHeather Stanford Posts: 1,308Member
    Accepted Answer
    I think she is adorable and a little trooper. I it hard on pups to be taken away from there mom so early, but she made it. That might be part of why she is a little smaller. I can see the G. P. but I would guess mixed with a border collie. She has the body of a G.P. with the ear set and face of a border collie. Since she is a mix there really isn't any telling how big she will get. Great Pyrenees~ female height: 25-29 in weight: 85 lbs. http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/greatpyrenees.htm Border Collie~female height: 18-21in weight: 27-42 lbs http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/bordercollie.htm She could get one extream or the other or be a total mix of the two only time will tell. She is just adorable! Also I have learned to take what shelters tell you with a grain of salt. I was told Bandit was a German Shepard or a Shar-pei when I adopted him a 7 weeks.
  • Richard AtchesonRichard Atcheson Northern USAPosts: 3,570Member
    Accepted Answer