Why do ppl get breeds of dogs that have bad health issues and not do anything to help it?

Suni BowlingSuni Bowling Posts: 876Member
edited 25 October, 2012 in Dog Health
I'm a veterinary technician and I just recently started at a veterinary hospital. Today we had a bull dog that had BAD yeasty ears and a yeast-like smell coming from his folds. His left eye was also a dark red and covered in a yellowish-green mucous. What makes me mad is that people get the dog breeds that have a lot of health issues that they are aware of and yet they refuse to pay the extra money to take care of that health problem or go the extra mile to make sure their dog is in a comfortable state. I felt so bad for this bulldog. He has chronic dry eye and probably an underlying eye issue and the owners will not pay for artificial tears to help lube the eye or even let the doctor's look more into the eye and help treat it. Every bulldog owner and other owners of squishy-faced breeds knows that they eventually will need artificial tears because they are so bug-eyed, prone to ear infections, and need their wrinkles clean out on a daily basis. We were literally digging out yellow discharge that had looked like phlegm out of this bulldogs' ears. What I don't understand is if you know that certain breeds have abundant amount of health issues/problems and your not in the kind of shape to get the vet attention it deserves when these health issues pop up or you REFUSE to get the treatment it deserves; why even get the dog in the first place??? Is it because the dog was sooooooo cute as a puppy and you just had to have it without even thinking the potential health issues it can have later in life. To me that is selfish. They are only thinking about themselves and not for the well-being and welfare of the pet. Ppl think too much of what other ppl are going to think and say when they own a certain dog breed that they think is cute or cool looking. For example, my little brother who is turning 18 next mon